• PLI
    Production Linked Incentives Schemes in India
    KNOW MORE
  • Shri Narendra Modi

    Sehr geehrter Herr Ministerpräsident

    Das Mantra von 3R – Reduce, Reuse and Recycle – steht im Mittelpunkt jeder Vision einer nachhaltigen Entwicklung der Menschheit. Alle Beteiligten – Produzenten, Verbraucher und der Staat – müssen sich an dieses goldene Prinzip halten, das einen wesentlichen Beitrag zur Lösung der doppelten Herausforderungen der Abfallwirtschaft und der nachhaltigen Entwicklung leisten kann

  • Professor Krishnaswamy VijayRaghavan FRS

    PSA an die indische Regierung

    „Die Mission „Abfall“ wurde auf Luft, Wasser und feste Abfälle ausgeweitet und ist angelaufen. Wir arbeiten jetzt mit nationalen Programmen zur Bekämpfung der Luftverschmutzung und auch mit der Mission @JalMission zusammen.''

Mission

Als die Swachh-Bharat-Abhiyan-Bewegung die Nation eroberte, entdeckte Indien seinen Weg in eine sauberere, nachhaltigere Zukunft.

Im Einklang mit Indiens Erklärung im Pariser Abkommen zielt der nächste Schritt in diese Richtung darauf ab, das Abfall- und Umweltmanagement zu überschreiten und diese Bedrohungen in produktive Wege für Energie und Wachstum zu verwandeln.

Der Swachh Bharat Unnat Bharat Abhiyan, der unter dem Wissenschafts-, Technologie- und Innovationsbeirat des Premierministers eingerichtet wurde, ist eine Initiative des Büros des Hauptwissenschaftlichen Beraters der indischen Regierung (O/o PSA), die globale technologische Fähigkeiten nutzen wird um 1,3 Milliarden Indern einen sozioökonomischen Nutzen zu verschaffen, indem die Probleme der Abfallentsorgung, der Verschlechterung der Luftqualität und der zunehmenden Verschmutzung von Gewässern angegangen werden.

Um Indiens Verpflichtungen gegenüber den Zielen für nachhaltige Entwicklung der Vereinten Nationen zu erfüllen, hat das PSA-Büro in Zusammenarbeit mit Invest India, Indiens National Investment Promotion & Facilitation Agency, eine „Projektmanagementeinheit“ (PMU) eingerichtet.

Die PMU hat für ihre Pilotprojekte im ganzen Land über die regionalen Projektmanagementeinheiten des Knotens 14 „Sentinel Sites“ identifiziert. Jedes Pilotprojekt wird von einer ausgewiesenen professionellen Durchführungsstelle mit nachgewiesener Erfahrung und operativem Erfolg geleitet, die sich auf die technische und fachliche Expertise verschiedener akademischer und FuE-Institutionen in der Nähe der Sentinel-Standorte stützt.

Die Pilotprojekte werden versuchen, in Zusammenarbeit mit verschiedenen Abteilungen und Ministerien verschiedene Techniken und Ansätze von Waste to Wealth zu entdecken, zu demonstrieren, zu testen und daraus zu lernen. Die Bereitstellungsdaten sowie die Management-Lektionen aus jedem Projekt werden an verschiedenen Standorten in ganz Indien repliziert.

SDGs im Einklang mit der globalen Mission der Verschwendung zum Wohlstand

  • SDGs im Einklang mit der globalen Mission der Verschwendung zum Wohlstand

Indien-Szenario

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4

Überblick

Indien wird voraussichtlich bis 2027 China als bevölkerungsreichstes Land der Welt überholen und bis 2050 wird sich die städtische Bevölkerung Indiens auf 814 Millionen fast verdoppeln.

Das Abfallaufkommen in städtischen Gebieten Indiens wird 2025 mit 0,7 kg pro Person und Tag etwa vier- bis sechsmal so hoch sein wie 1999. Laut dem Ministerium für Umwelt, Wald und Klimawandel erzeugt Indien derzeit 62 Millionen Tonnen Abfall (beide recycelbar und nicht recycelbar) jedes Jahr mit einer durchschnittlichen jährlichen Wachstumsrate von 4%. Feste Abfälle, Plastikmüll und Elektroschrott sind die wichtigsten Abfallstoffe.

Die Luftverschmutzung in Indien ist auch ein ernstes Gesundheitsproblem. Von den am stärksten verschmutzten Städten der Welt befanden sich 2018 22 von 30 in Indien. Laut einer Studie, die auf Daten von 2016 basiert, atmen mindestens 140 Millionen Menschen in Indien Luft ein, die das Zehnfache oder mehr über dem sicheren Grenzwert der WHO liegt.

Indiens drei Aktionsgrenzen:

  • Richtlinienrahmen

    Um die Ziele des Swachh Bharat Unnat Bharat Abhiyan zu fördern und zu unterstützen, wurden die Solid Waste Management (SWM) Rules 2016, Plastic Waste Management (PWM) Rules, 2016 und die E-Waste (Management) Rules, 2016 notifiziert.

  • Technologiefortschritt

    Neben der Bereitstellung eines förderlichen politischen Rahmens und der Förderung verantwortungsbewussten Verhaltens ist der technologische Fortschritt ein wichtiger Faktor, der eine effektive Abfallwirtschaft in Indien vorantreiben kann. Der Einsatz neuer Technologien wie Blockchain kann das derzeitige Abfallmanagement-Szenario in Indien verändern.

  • Andere Initiativen

    Die indische Regierung hat als Teil ihres Engagements für ein effektives Abfall- und Umweltmanagement in Indien mehrere groß angelegte nationale Initiativen wie die „Swachh Bharat Mission“, die „National Water Mission“ und „Waste to Energy“ ergriffen.

    Ein Schwerpunkt wurde auch auf die Einrichtung von Kompetenzzentren gelegt, um nachhaltige, wissenschaftliche und technologische Lösungen für die Abfallwirtschaft umzusetzen. In diesem Sinne wurde vor kurzem ein Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) zwischen dem Amt der PSA und dem IIT-Delhi unterzeichnet, um am IIT-Delhi ein „Center of Excellence“ einzurichten.

Schlüsselprojekte des Amtes der PSA

Projekt 1

Agriabfall zu Biokohle-Pilotanlage in Mohali, Punjab

Projekt: 2

Babarpur und Gokulpuri Drain Project, Ost-Delhi

Projekt: 3

Abfallbergbau und Landrückgewinnung der Deponie Ghazipur, Ost-Delhi

Regierungsinitiativen

Swachh Bharat Unnat Bharat-Team bei Invest India

  • Malyaj Varmani

    Senior AVP & Leiter, PM-STIAC Sekretariat

  • Nithin Chakki

    Senior Manager, PM-STIAC Sekretariat

  • Malvika Jaina

    Associate, PM-STIAC-Sekretariat

Have a query ?

Attach file
Maximum 3 files.
200 MB limit.
Allowed types: png gif jpg jpeg pdf docx doc.

• Shri Narendra Modi

    Honorable Prime Minister

    The mantra of 3R - Reduce, Reuse and Recycle- is at the heart of any vision towards the sustainable development of mankind. All stakeholders - producers, consumers and the State alike - must adhere to this golden principle which can contribute significantly in solving the twin challenges of waste management as well as sustainable development

  • Professor Krishnaswamy VijayRaghavan FRS

    PSA to Government of India

    ‘’The ‘Waste’ Mission has been broadened to address air, water, and solid waste and has taken off. We are now working with National programs to address air pollution and also the @JalMission mission.’’

Mission

As the Swachh Bharat Abhiyan movement swept the nation, India uncovered its path to a cleaner, more sustainable future.

In line with India's declaration in the Paris Accord, the next stride in this direction aims to overstep waste & pollution management, transforming these menaces into productive avenues of energy and growth.

The Swachh Bharat Unnat Bharat Abhiyan, set up under the Prime Minister’s Science, Technology & Innovation Advisory Council, is an initiative by the Office of the Principal Scientific Advisor to the Government of India (the O/o PSA) that will leverage global technological capabilities to create socio-economic benefits for 1.3 billion Indians by addressing the issues of waste disposal, deteriorating air quality and increasing pollution of water bodies. The mission is spearheaded by the office of the Principal Scientific Adviser (PSA), Government of India.

To help achieve India’s commitments to United Nations - Sustainable Development Goals, the Office of the PSA has established a 'Project Management Unit' (PMU) in partnership with Invest India, India’s National Investment Promotion & Facilitation Agency.

The mission aims to identify, test, Validate and deploy technologies to treat waste to generate energy, recycle materials, and extract resources of value and provide technology database of national and international technologies to support Urban Local Bodies address their waste challenges.

The mission will assist and augment the Swachh Bharat and Smart Cities projects by leveraging science, technology, and innovation to create circular economic models that are financially viable and sustainable for waste management to streamline waste handling in the country.

SDGs aligning with the global mission of waste to wealth

  • SDGs aligning with the global mission of waste to wealth

India Scenario

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4

Overview

India is projected to surpass China as the world’s most populous country by 2027 and by 2050, India’s urban population will nearly double to reach 814 million.

Waste generation in urban areas of India will be 0.7 kg per person per day in 2025, approximately four to six times higher than in 1999. According to the Ministry of Environment, Forest and Climate Change, India currently generates 62 million tons of waste (both recyclable and non–recyclable) every year, with an average annual growth rate of 4%. Solid waste, plastic waste and E-waste are the principal waste materials.

Air Pollution in India is also a serious health issue. Of the most polluted cities in the world, 22 out of 30 were in India in 2018. As per a study based on 2016 data, at least 140 million people in India breathe air that is 10 times or more over the WHO safe limit.

India's Three Frontiers of Action:

  • Policy Framework

    To promote and support the goals of the Swachh Bharat Unnat Bharat Abhiyan, the Solid Waste Management (SWM) Rules 2016, Plastic Waste Management (PWM) Rules, 2016 and the E-waste (Management) Rules, 2016 have been notified.

  • Technology Advancement

    In addition to providing a conducive policy framework and promoting responsible behaviour, technological advancement is an important factor that can drive effective waste management in India. Use of emerging technologies such as automatic waste segregators, Onsite waste processing like Composting/Biomethanatio/Bio CNG, gasifiers/pyrolysis etc can transform the current waste management scenario in India.

    The use of emerging technologies such as automatic waste segregation, gasifier, and pyrolysis units demonstrates a method to manage waste in India. The way forward must include practices that generate a circular economy in the waste management sector. 

  • Other initiatives

    Government of India has undertaken multiple large-scale national initiatives such as ‘Swachh Bharat Mission’, ‘National Water Mission’ and ‘Waste to Wealth Mission” as a part of its commitment to effective waste & pollution management in India.

    Emphasis has also been laid on approach of setting up Decentralised Waste processing sites within Cities to cater problem of fresh MSW and legacy waste management.

    In continuation to Swachh Bharat Mission objective, The Waste to Wealth Mission has deployed a decentralized waste Processing technology park. This park includes technologies that segregate fresh Municipal solid waste. This segregated waste is used as feedstock for the gasifier and pyrolysis units to generate energy. The park also includes a drain cleaner unit that collects debris from an adjacent drain on-site. This collected waste is also used as feedstock. A wastewater treatment unit is also on site. This unit treats effluent from the adjacent drain. The water is then reused on site.

    The Waste to Wealth Mission is also looking at deployments related cleaning and restoring water bodies, managing e-waste, agricultural waste, bio-medical waste etc.

Key Projects by the Office of the PSA

Project : 1

Agri-waste to Biocoal Pilot Plant at Mohali, Punjab

Babarpur and Gokulpuri Drain Project,  East Delhi

Project : 2

Babarpur and Gokulpuri Drain Project,
East Delhi

Project : 3

Waste Mining & Land Recovery of the
Ghazipur Dump Site, East Delhi

Goverment Initiatives

Waste to Wealth Mission PMU team

  • Malyaj Varmani

    Malyaj Varmani

    Senior AVP & Head, PM-STIAC Secretariat

  • Sonia Duhan

    Sonia Duhan

    Assistant Vice President

  • Jayita Ghosh

    Jayita Ghosh

    Manager

  • Ravi Singh Beniwal

    Ravi Singh Beniwal

    Manager

  • Mehal Sutodiya

    Mehal Sutodiya

    Associate

  • Malvika Jain

    Malvika Jain

    Assistant Manager

Have a query ?

Attach file
Maximum 3 files.
200 MB limit.
Allowed types: png gif jpg jpeg pdf docx doc.
Image CAPTCHA
Enter the characters shown in the image.