• Shri Narendra Modi

    Honorable Premier ministre

    Le mantra des 3R - Réduire, Réutiliser et Recycler - est au cœur de toute vision vers le développement durable de l'humanité. Toutes les parties prenantes - producteurs, consommateurs et État - doivent adhérer à ce principe d'or qui peut contribuer de manière significative à résoudre le double défi de la gestion des déchets et du développement durable.

  • Professeur Krishnaswamy VijayRaghavan FRS

    PSA au gouvernement de l'Inde

    ''La mission 'Déchets' a été élargie pour traiter l'air, l'eau et les déchets solides et a pris son envol. Nous travaillons maintenant avec des programmes nationaux pour lutter contre la pollution de l'air ainsi qu'avec la mission @JalMission.''

Mission

Alors que le mouvement Swachh Bharat Abhiyan balayait la nation, l'Inde a découvert son chemin vers un avenir plus propre et plus durable.

Conformément à la déclaration de l'Inde dans l'Accord de Paris, la prochaine étape dans cette direction vise à dépasser la gestion des déchets et de la pollution, en transformant ces menaces en voies productives d'énergie et de croissance.

Le Swachh Bharat Unnat Bharat Abhiyan, créé sous l'égide du Conseil consultatif du Premier ministre pour la science, la technologie et l'innovation, est une initiative du Bureau du conseiller scientifique principal du gouvernement indien (le PSA O/o) qui tirera parti des capacités technologiques mondiales créer des avantages socio-économiques pour 1,3 milliard d'Indiens en s'attaquant aux problèmes de l'élimination des déchets, de la détérioration de la qualité de l'air et de la pollution croissante des plans d'eau.

Pour aider à réaliser les engagements de l'Inde envers les Nations Unies - Objectifs de développement durable, le Bureau du PSA a mis en place une « Unité de gestion de projet » (PMU) en partenariat avec Invest India, l'Agence nationale indienne de promotion et de facilitation des investissements.

L'UGP a identifié 14 « sites sentinelles » pour ses projets pilotes à travers le pays à travers les unités régionales nodales de gestion de projet. Chaque projet pilote sera géré par une agence d'exécution professionnelle identifiée ayant fait ses preuves en matière d'expertise et de succès opérationnel, en s'appuyant sur l'expertise technique et professionnelle de diverses institutions universitaires et de R&D colocalisées à proximité des sites sentinelles.

Les projets pilotes chercheront à découvrir, démontrer, tester et apprendre des différentes techniques et approches du gaspillage à la richesse en collaboration avec divers départements et ministères. Les données de déploiement, ainsi que les leçons de gestion générées par chaque projet, seront répliquées sur divers sites à travers l'Inde.

Des ODD alignés sur la mission mondiale des déchets à la richesse

  • Des ODD alignés sur la mission mondiale des déchets à la richesse

Scénario de l'Inde

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4

Aperçu

L'Inde devrait dépasser la Chine en tant que pays le plus peuplé du monde d'ici 2027 et d'ici 2050, la population urbaine de l'Inde doublera presque pour atteindre 814 millions.

La production de déchets dans les zones urbaines de l'Inde sera de 0,7 kg par personne et par jour en 2025, soit environ quatre à six fois plus qu'en 1999. Selon le ministère de l'Environnement, des Forêts et du Changement climatique, l'Inde génère actuellement 62 millions de tonnes de déchets (à la fois recyclables et non recyclables) chaque année, avec un taux de croissance annuel moyen de 4 %. Les déchets solides, les déchets plastiques et les déchets électroniques sont les principaux déchets.

La pollution de l'air en Inde est également un grave problème de santé. Parmi les villes les plus polluées au monde, 22 sur 30 se trouvaient en Inde en 2018. Selon une étude basée sur des données de 2016, au moins 140 millions de personnes en Inde respirent un air 10 fois supérieur ou plus à la limite de sécurité de l'OMS.

Les trois frontières d'action de l'Inde :

  • Cadre politique

    Afin de promouvoir et de soutenir les objectifs de Swachh Bharat Unnat Bharat Abhiyan, les règles de gestion des déchets solides (SWM) 2016, les règles de gestion des déchets plastiques (PWM), 2016 et les règles de gestion des déchets électroniques, 2016 ont été notifiées.

  • Avancement technologique

    En plus de fournir un cadre politique propice et de promouvoir un comportement responsable, le progrès technologique est un facteur important qui peut conduire à une gestion efficace des déchets en Inde. L'utilisation de technologies émergentes telles que la blockchain peut transformer le scénario actuel de gestion des déchets en Inde.

  • Autres initiatives

    Le gouvernement indien a lancé plusieurs initiatives nationales à grande échelle telles que « Swachh Bharat Mission », « National Water Mission » et « Waste to Energy » dans le cadre de son engagement en faveur d'une gestion efficace des déchets et de la pollution en Inde.

    L'accent a également été mis sur la mise en place de Centres d'Excellence pour mettre en œuvre des solutions durables, scientifiques et technologiques pour la gestion des déchets. Dans ce sens, un protocole d'accord (MoU) a récemment été signé entre le bureau de la PSA et l'IIT-Delhi pour établir un « Centre d'excellence » à l'IIT-Delhi.

Projets clés du Bureau du PSA

Projet 1

Usine pilote d'agro-déchets en biocharbon à Mohali, Punjab

Projet : 2

Projet de drainage Babarpur et Gokulpuri, East Delhi

Projet : 3

Extraction des déchets et récupération des terres de la décharge de Ghazipur, à l'est de Delhi

Initiatives gouvernementales

L'équipe Swachh Bharat Unnat Bharat chez Invest India

  • Malyaj Varmani

    Vice-président adjoint principal et chef, Secrétariat PM-STIAC

  • Chakki nithin

    Gestionnaire principal, Secrétariat PM-STIAC

  • Malvika Jain

    Associé, Secrétariat PM-STIAC

Have a query ?

Attach file
Maximum 3 files.
200 MB limit.
Allowed types: png gif jpg jpeg pdf docx doc.

• Shri Narendra Modi

    Honorable Prime Minister

    The mantra of 3R - Reduce, Reuse and Recycle- is at the heart of any vision towards the sustainable development of mankind. All stakeholders - producers, consumers and the State alike - must adhere to this golden principle which can contribute significantly in solving the twin challenges of waste management as well as sustainable development

  • Professor Krishnaswamy VijayRaghavan FRS

    PSA to Government of India

    ‘’The ‘Waste’ Mission has been broadened to address air, water, and solid waste and has taken off. We are now working with National programs to address air pollution and also the @JalMission mission.’’

Mission

As the Swachh Bharat Abhiyan movement swept the nation, India uncovered its path to a cleaner, more sustainable future.

In line with India's declaration in the Paris Accord, the next stride in this direction aims to overstep waste & pollution management, transforming these menaces into productive avenues of energy and growth.

The Swachh Bharat Unnat Bharat Abhiyan, set up under the Prime Minister’s Science, Technology & Innovation Advisory Council, is an initiative by the Office of the Principal Scientific Advisor to the Government of India (the O/o PSA) that will leverage global technological capabilities to create socio-economic benefits for 1.3 billion Indians by addressing the issues of waste disposal, deteriorating air quality and increasing pollution of water bodies. The mission is spearheaded by the office of the Principal Scientific Adviser (PSA), Government of India.

To help achieve India’s commitments to United Nations - Sustainable Development Goals, the Office of the PSA has established a 'Project Management Unit' (PMU) in partnership with Invest India, India’s National Investment Promotion & Facilitation Agency.

The mission aims to identify, test, Validate and deploy technologies to treat waste to generate energy, recycle materials, and extract resources of value and provide technology database of national and international technologies to support Urban Local Bodies address their waste challenges.

The mission will assist and augment the Swachh Bharat and Smart Cities projects by leveraging science, technology, and innovation to create circular economic models that are financially viable and sustainable for waste management to streamline waste handling in the country.

SDGs aligning with the global mission of waste to wealth

  • SDGs aligning with the global mission of waste to wealth

India Scenario

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4

Overview

India is projected to surpass China as the world’s most populous country by 2027 and by 2050, India’s urban population will nearly double to reach 814 million.

Waste generation in urban areas of India will be 0.7 kg per person per day in 2025, approximately four to six times higher than in 1999. According to the Ministry of Environment, Forest and Climate Change, India currently generates 62 million tons of waste (both recyclable and non–recyclable) every year, with an average annual growth rate of 4%. Solid waste, plastic waste and E-waste are the principal waste materials.

Air Pollution in India is also a serious health issue. Of the most polluted cities in the world, 22 out of 30 were in India in 2018. As per a study based on 2016 data, at least 140 million people in India breathe air that is 10 times or more over the WHO safe limit.

India's Three Frontiers of Action:

  • Policy Framework

    To promote and support the goals of the Swachh Bharat Unnat Bharat Abhiyan, the Solid Waste Management (SWM) Rules 2016, Plastic Waste Management (PWM) Rules, 2016 and the E-waste (Management) Rules, 2016 have been notified.

  • Technology Advancement

    In addition to providing a conducive policy framework and promoting responsible behaviour, technological advancement is an important factor that can drive effective waste management in India. Use of emerging technologies such as automatic waste segregators, Onsite waste processing like Composting/Biomethanatio/Bio CNG, gasifiers/pyrolysis etc can transform the current waste management scenario in India.

    The use of emerging technologies such as automatic waste segregation, gasifier, and pyrolysis units demonstrates a method to manage waste in India. The way forward must include practices that generate a circular economy in the waste management sector. 

  • Other initiatives

    Government of India has undertaken multiple large-scale national initiatives such as ‘Swachh Bharat Mission’, ‘National Water Mission’ and ‘Waste to Wealth Mission” as a part of its commitment to effective waste & pollution management in India.

    Emphasis has also been laid on approach of setting up Decentralised Waste processing sites within Cities to cater problem of fresh MSW and legacy waste management.

    In continuation to Swachh Bharat Mission objective, The Waste to Wealth Mission has deployed a decentralized waste Processing technology park. This park includes technologies that segregate fresh Municipal solid waste. This segregated waste is used as feedstock for the gasifier and pyrolysis units to generate energy. The park also includes a drain cleaner unit that collects debris from an adjacent drain on-site. This collected waste is also used as feedstock. A wastewater treatment unit is also on site. This unit treats effluent from the adjacent drain. The water is then reused on site.

    The Waste to Wealth Mission is also looking at deployments related cleaning and restoring water bodies, managing e-waste, agricultural waste, bio-medical waste etc.

Key Projects by the Office of the PSA

Project : 1

Agri-waste to Biocoal Pilot Plant at Mohali, Punjab

Babarpur and Gokulpuri Drain Project,  East Delhi

Project : 2

Babarpur and Gokulpuri Drain Project,
East Delhi

Project : 3

Waste Mining & Land Recovery of the
Ghazipur Dump Site, East Delhi

Goverment Initiatives

Waste to Wealth Mission PMU team

  • Malyaj Varmani

    Malyaj Varmani

    Senior AVP & Head, PM-STIAC Secretariat

  • Sonia Duhan

    Sonia Duhan

    Assistant Vice President

  • Jayita Ghosh

    Jayita Ghosh

    Manager

  • Ravi Singh Beniwal

    Ravi Singh Beniwal

    Manager

  • Mehal Sutodiya

    Mehal Sutodiya

    Associate

  • Malvika Jain

    Malvika Jain

    Assistant Manager

Have a query ?

Attach file
Maximum 3 files.
200 MB limit.
Allowed types: png gif jpg jpeg pdf docx doc.
Image CAPTCHA
Enter the characters shown in the image.